The Memory Chronicles #1: The Memory of After/Level 2 (YA Novel)



In Level 2, the liminal place between our world (Level 1) and heaven, Seventeen-year-old Felicia Ward spends her days in her pod reliving her favorite memories - until she gets broken out by Julian, a boy she knew when she was still alive. There’s about to be an uprising in Level Two, and Julian wants to recruit her to the cause. But unsure whether she can trust Julian, and still in love with her boyfriend Neil on Earth, she finds herself torn between two loves—and two worlds.




“A gripping debut! This utterly unique take on the afterlife poses fascinating questions . . . I can't wait to read the rest of the series to find out the answers!” (Megan McCafferty, New York Times bestselling author of Bumped and Thumped)


“Appelhans brings the afterlife to a whole new level. . . . A high-voltage thrill ride through love, death, and memory that will leave you breathless.” (Jess Rothenberg, author of The Catastrophic History of You and Me)


“Absolutely gripping. My heart pounded on nearly every page. You won't be able to put it down.” (Mary E. Pearson, award-winning author of the Jenna Fox Chronicles)




“This imaginative debut brings conflict to the afterlife....An absorbing, sensitive read.” (Kirkus Reviews)


"Readers will root for Felicia and Neil....The way Appelhans mixes memory with plot is exceptional." (Romantic Times)


"Immensely layered." (VOYA)


“Appelhans’ storytelling is well paced, tantalizing the reader with hints, and the compelling theme of the necessity of facing the wrongs of the past in order to move forward into the future will appeal to teens.” (Booklist)


"Dystopian fans will find this compelling novel an enjoyable twist on standard futuristic themes, and anyone who has ever fallen in love will enjoy all the romantic bits." (School Library Journal)


"Brimming with twists and turns while offering up cliff-hangers galore, this one's a guaranteed page turner." (The Sydney Morning Herald/Australia)


Buying information:


Released in hardcover as LEVEL 2 on January 15, 2013 from Simon & Schuster in the US and Canada.


ISBN-10: 1442441852

ISBN-13: 9781442441859


Released in paperback as THE MEMORY OF AFTER on September 3, 2013 from Simon & Schuster in the US and Candada.


ISBN-10: 1442441860 

ISBN-13: 9781442441866


Add Level 2 to GoodReads


Find out more about Level 2 in my Dystopian August interview


View details, watch Lenore talk about Level 2 and find order links for Level 2 at Simon & Schuster


Download a cirriculum/reader's guide for Level 2 


Also available in:


Australia & New Zealand - Allen & Unwin (January 2, 2013)

Brazil - Leya (2014)

Britain - Usborne (January 15, 2013) Read an excerpt

Taiwan - Fantasy Foundation (2013)

Turkey - Dogan Egmont (2013)


Films rights optioned by CBS Films


North American Audio book produced by Listening Library (Random House) and published in January 2013. Read by Jenna Lamia. Listen to an excerpt of Level 2 at Books on Tape.


For rights inquires, please contact Jessica Regel at Foundry Literary + Media


The Memory Chronicles # 2: Chasing Before (YA Novel)



Felicia and Neil have left Level 2 behind, but another level stands between them and Heaven: Level 3. While the purpose of Level 2 is to relive your time on Earth and make peace with your memories, the objective of Level 3 is to completely detach from life and prepare for your divine vocation.

During Felicia and Neil's training period, a series of explosions destroy the portals out of Level 3. Tension is high, and casualties are mounting. Though Neil wants to become either a Muse or a Healer to help, Felicia is drawn to the Seraphim Guard. A rift forms between the pair, one that grows wider when Felicia receives new memories from the Morati. The memories cast doubt on the people she loves the most, but Felicia can't stop her curiosity. She has to know the truth about her life before she moves on--if she can manage to evade old enemies long enough to find a way out of Level 3.


Buying Information:


To be released in hardcover in the US and Canada by Simon & Schuster BRYR on August 26, 2014


Preorder for Kindle


Add Chasing Before to Goodreads

Chick-O-Saurus Rex (Picture Book)




The humorous story of a little chick who proves his mettle to the farm's big bullies when he discovers he has a very mighty lineage. Writing as Lenore Jennewein. Illustrated by Daniel Jennewein.




“Fun for reading aloud, especially in group settings." (Booklist)


"Dinosaur-loving youngsters will warm to Little Chick." (School Library Journal)


"Provides a distinctive angle to a story about bullying." (Publisher's Weekly)


"An entertaining, good-hearted romp." (New York Times Sunday Book Review)




Bankstreet College Irma Black Honor 2014

SCBWI Crystal Kite Award - Region International Other


Buying information:


Published July 23, 2013 from Simon & Schuster BFYR.


ISBN-13: 9781442451865

ISBN-10: 1442451866


View details and find order links at Simon & Schuster


View a four spread preview at Simon & Schuster


View book trailer at Fuse 8, School Library Journal